Abbotsford & Mission Real Estate Insider

A Profile In The 3rd Person, A Big Whoops! – Do you do this?

Homelife Realty- MistakeThank goodness I got someone else to do my blurb on Linkedin.com avoiding this blunder completely – But not everyone can get a celebrity to endorse them in this manner.  😉

 Dave Browne

As I read this article below it got me thinking about my LinkedIn profile as well as my brother Jordi’s Profile and how it apprears to Abbotsford, Mission and Chilliwack mortgage clients and Abbotsford, Chilliwack and Mission real estate referral partners. Thank goodness I got someone else to do my blurb avoiding this blunder completely – But not everyone can get a celebrity to endorse them in this manner.

Jordi, on the other hand, “third partied” the heck out of his profile…maybe we could get some feed back from you guys as to what he should say about himself so he can fix this?

Still diving deeper into this issue I explored some blogs in other industries and found writers and authors to be good at not writing in the third person – Surprise, Surprise.

                             “Referring to yourself in the third person creates distance between others – Try using“I” instead of “he.” or “she.” .”

Here is my wife’s word press description of herself on her Website. She happens to be an author. Again, as referenced earlier, you may pick up an idea or tip by reading her personal description because most authors do not write in the third person like us normal folks! (Not saying authors are not normal people, they just have super powers when it comes to communicating & conveying idea’s, thoughts and opinions!)

                                                                        “Girl, Uninterrupted (because it’s my website).

~ this is my space to rant, discuss, and share my thoughts on all things food and wellness; particularly digestive health. welcome!”

That to me is a welcoming message to read and also does a great job of letting you know what to expect. Here is the article that I referenced at the beginning –feel to comment at the bottom – You may even disagree! Regardless, be sure to shoot over a Linkedin Connection so we can be friends on Linkedin too!!

 

http://theundercoverrecruiter.com/linkedin-profile-3rd-person/

 

 

By Referral Mortgage Consultants*

“Click, Call, Chat – Award Winning Brokers”
1 – 32540 Logan Ave
Mission BC V2V 6G3

3 more Fraser Valley Locations – Ask
C 604 897 2741
O 604 826 2599
F 604 826 2621

www.AbbotsfordsMortgageBroker.com

www.BRMC.ca Mission’s & Maple Ridge’s Mortgage Broker

 

Connect with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/BRMCMortgages

Leave a Reply

